You Do Not Understand Infinity

infinity-38084

“Do you believe in infinity?”

 

You do not understand it and I do not understand it.

Fact.

Why is this you might ask? Well I’ll explain this to you, and myself.

What is infinity? Some would say it is a number, they would be wrong of course. This is because infinity is a concept.

It’s defined as 1. “the state or quality of being infinite.” and 2. “a number greater than any assignable quantity or countable number (symbol ∞).”

I agree with this definition . . . in part.

To me, infinity is something much greater than mere numbers (sorry math people) Infinity is the idea that anything is possible.

While that may seem like a cliché I would like you to stop and think for a second about this, “Do you believe in infinity?”

I would argue that the vast majority of people do not. But I like to think that I do.

“What does this all mean, is anything really possible? and to that question I would say yes.

Infinity means that there is no limit. If something can be imagined then it can be possible. However, it may not be possible in our universe. This is to say that there are laws governing how our universe works and according to infinity there re other universes with different laws than our and in those universes something that may not be possible in our universe . . . is possible.

Let’s try an example. Is it possible that the world of Star Wars exists somewhere? If you think according to infinity then . . . yes.

You’re probably scoffing at this point (I understand it is difficult to understand) but if there is no limit then there is nothing that can’t be.

One of my favorite visualizations of this concept is dreams. I dream, you dream, everybody dreams. Wether or not we remember all of them is not uniform but at some point you have a dream that you remember. If you think about infinity, then somewhere out in the possibilities of creation that dream, that idea your brain thought up, is happening, or has happened, and that is entirely possible.

Another example I like to use and the one that I think people find is most difficult to comprehend, is that you have another you out there. Most are taught at a young age and then as they grow up that they are unique and no one else is exactly like them. However, if you visualize infinity, then you realize that the opposite is true. You are not unique per say, because there is an infinite amount of people who are exactly like you, in every way, somewhere.

Let me just re-state. I do not think that same you is necessarily in this universe but is some other form they exist.

Who knows, it is entirely possible that someone with the same life as you and the same ideas and beliefs exists but with one key difference, they have the ability to fly. Now isn’t that frustrating? Why couldn’t you be the you that can fly?

Ideas like that is what separates those who understand infinity and those who don’t. If you understand then you acknowledge that everything and anything is possible.

I don’t want to try and convert you or anything but I wanted to give you an eye-opener to the possibilities that arise when you think of infinity. Who knows, I may be crazy for thinking this but I think that the entire concept is amazing and I wanted to share it with you :)

So let me know what you think? Is this appealing to you or does you fear something like this? Let me know!

7 thoughts on “You Do Not Understand Infinity

  1. I don’t really fear for it. I visualize infinity as a number that no other number is greater than, like, it’s the edge of the graph in a coordinate system. As the concept that you described, I heard that on the science channel. :P But, our universe is finite, and any possibility of anything being outside of the universe is totally theoretical. The thought of there being another me, even if true, shouldn’t have an effect on how I life my life, because obviously they would never be detectable from where we are.

    • But ay, the idea of infinite possibilities also goes over my head. In the sense of any one person’s individual life, that is absolutely impossible (i.e, we can’t fly). It’s definitely some thought-provoking stuff, if you allow it to divide your brain by zero. :P

      • For sure it’s a concept that’s impossible to understand. But saying that something isn’t possible means that to you infinity does not exit, that there is an upper and lower limit. Wether or not it is possible within the boundaries of what we know does not matter, we may never be able to confirm something but that does not mean that it is not possible.

  2. I find the thought…overwhelming. And I like drawing comparisons to mathematical concepts, so getting my head around the bigger picture is quite a challenge – doesn’t help how I’m stubborn in my thinking, also.
    Thought-provoking post!

Say Stuff

