Why I Dislike “Txting”

Let me start by saying that I think technology is awesome and communication is great. We are able to do things that would have been thought impossible 50 years ago. I txt people every day, I don’t send them a letter once a week. (to see my view of all that read this post on communication)

However! With the increase in all this technology there has also been a decrease in personal interactions. Instead of walking over to a friend’s house and talking to them now a days we just txt them for a few minutes and leave it. We generally do not schedule time to meet up with someone to discuss work with them or the events of the week. We just hop on Facebook and check out their profile.

This is something that I really dislike. I like to talk to talk people, something that is not done enough with the newer generations, that have grown up with technology, in my opinion.

You can type “lol” but it will never beat hearing the sound of actual laughter. I don’t think you will ever be able to replace the feel of talking face to face through technology for long time. Maybe someday but I will probably be long dead.

So for right now, talking face to face is very important and I think that you lose something by not interacting with people regularly. Can I describe what that something is? No, I’m not inclined enough in the literary arts and the philosophical world to know how to, but that does not mean I can’t feel it.

Event though technology is great and wonderful and allows communication in amazing ways, going back to the basics and talking with someone face-to-face is something that everyone should not go without.

One thought on “Why I Dislike “Txting”

  1. I totally agree, but it’s tough for me to actually hangout with my few friends. They’re either too busy, they live too far away, or both. (And it’s usually both…)

Say Stuff

