“Apple’s Event” And My Reaction

I’ll keep this brief and only about my opinions as I’m sure you can find the tech specs online. Also I apologize for the lateness, I meant to have this out directly after the live-stream but that did not happen.

iPhone 6

I’m pretty excited for the new iPhone. I like the size and the features it implements to deal with the new sizes. (double tap the home button and screen moves down) Improvements to battery life are always great as well. The main decision for me is whether to get a 6 or a 6 plus (yes I will be getting one but not right away, I’ll wait for the bugs to get worked out) I don’t know if I will like the bigger size of 5.5 inches. The only way I will be able to decide is to go to an apple store and hold the phone for myself. I’m not totally opposed to getting the plus if it feels good in my hand.

The new camera is what I paid a lot of attention too. A plus for the plus (see what I did there) is that is has the optical video stabilization which I would very much like to have. That will factor into my decision greatly.

Apple Pay

This way of paying may actually get me to use passbook. I’ve previously not used it much but with the ability to pay with NFC it would make my life easier and less of a hassle. The only problem I can see is if a store does not have an NFC capable way to pay which would be a bummer because then what is the point of inputting the card if you are going to carry around the cards anyway. You might as well get a coin and be done with it at that point.

Apple Watch

Now I have some mixed feelings about this product. It has everything I would like to see in a smart watch (except the one on one communication thing, what is that anyway?) and it seems to have the battery I would be okay with. However, I will only buy it if it is less than $150. I’m sure that apple could seek the watches at that price but early speculation that I’ve seen says that it will cost $350 which I am unwilling to pay. At that point it is more cost-effective to reach into my pocket and take out my phone to check the time.

Overall I was happy with the keynote, they poked fun at the early leaks and speculation being right and they gave a lot of information out. IOS 8 will be a great new update and I’ll be getting it the 17th I believe and then wait a month or so to get a 6.

So what do you think? Did you like the keynote? How much are you willing to pay for the watch? Will you even use the new features? Let me know.

Say Stuff

